

ROUND 12 OF THE STAR MAZDA CHAMPIONSHIP PRESENTED BY GOODYEAR AT THE PETIT LE MANS POWERED BY MAZDA6 – TUESDAY PRACTICE RESULTS



After an all-day deluge on Monday, Tuesday morning practice for Round 12 of the Star Mazda Championship presented by Goodyear at the Petit Le Mans Powered by Mazda6 took place under humid, partly cloudy conditions, with the track washed totally clean of any 'grippy' rubber from various teams testing the previous week. Scandinavian racer Anders Krohn, winner at the Milwaukee oval, was quickest in

the morning session, driving his #27 Mundill / Trallfa / Colosseum Mazda to a lap of 1:20.492.

Rounding out the top-3 were Conor Daly, with a 1:20.699 in his #22 Andersen Racing / College Network / Indeck / Cytomax Mazda and Richard Kent, turning a 1:20.886 in his #33 Andersen Racing / Traka Allied Interior Products Mazda. Current championship leader Peter Dempsey was 4th-fast in his #3 Juncos Racing / The Collection / Motorsport Ireland / Queyside.ie Mazda, turning a lap of 1:20.933. In the top-5 was Joel Miller with a 1:21.484 in the #2 Andersen Racing / Doug Mockett & Co. / Allied Interior Products Mazda.

The afternoon session was the same fast five, only in a slightly different order. The Star Mazda Championship lap record around the 2.54-mile, 12-turn Road Atlanta road course is held by Dempsey, who qualified on the pole for this event in 2008 with a lap of 1:18.328 -- but finished 19th due to and on-course collision with another driver. And it was Dempsey who turned the fastest practice time of the day -- albeit by the thinnest of margins – in the second session; a 1:20.344. He was followed closely by the morning's fast guy, Anders Krohn, with a 1:20.361, Richard Kent with a 1:20.388, Conor Daly with a 1:20.564 and Joel Miller rounding out the top-5 with 1:20.634.

"We had a really good test and we've changed a few things in the car; to be honest, we're just focused on trying to get the best out of the car, which is most important for us," said Dempsey. "The track did change between the morning and afternoon session; the temperature came up and with the rubber going down, obviously its going to be a bit quicker. With the rain we've had over the past couple of days, obviously the track is going to be really 'green' but the more rubber that goes down, the faster it gets. Definitely Turn 1 is getting rubbered up really good so you can really hustle it there, and turn 10 also. Just because of the weather and

temperature, I don't think its likely we'll be breaking any track records, but i would expect the lap time to get down to the high-18s in qualifying."

Qualifying to set the grid for the always-exciting Star Mazda 'standing start' will take place from 2:20 – 3:05 pm Thursday, Sept. 24. Immediately afterward, drivers participating in the Racing for Kids program will visit the Children's Healthcare of Atlanta at Scottish Rite (1001 Johnson Ferry Road NE) at 4:15 pm. The Star Mazda Championship field will take the green light for the 45-minute Round 12 of the 2009 season at 5:30 pm Friday, Sept. 25. Round 13, the season finale, takes place at Mazda Raceway Laguna Seca on October 10.

Morning session results:

Pos N	No.	Name	Best Tm	Diff	Best Spd	In Lap	Team	Sponsor
1	27	Anders Krohn	1:20.492		113.601	10	Mundill	Trallfa/Colosseum
2	22	Conor Daly	1:20.699	0.207	113.310	13	Andersen Racing	Indeck/Cytomax/Merchant Services/College Network
3	33	Richard Kent	1:20.886	0.394	113.048	13	Andersen Racing	Traka/Allied Interior Products
4	3	Peter Dempsey	1:20.933	0.441	112.982	5	Juncos Racing	Juncos Racing / The Collection / Motorsports Ireland
5	2	Joel Miller	1:21.484	0.992	112.218	14	Andersen Racing	Fader High Productions/eSoles/Doug Mockett & Co
6	66	Rusty Mitchell	1:21.538	1.046	112.144	12	Mitchell Motorsports	Motorola
7	30	Rick Rosin	1:21.574	1.082	112.095	15	Team GDT	FundeSporte/Governo Do ESTADO SANTA Catarina
8	21	Denis Navarro	1:21.592	1.100	112.070	14	Andersen Racing	Navarro Medicines Distribution/Allied
9	55	Gerry Kraut	1:22.001	1.509	111.511	17	JDC Motorsports	Dougherty and Co./Dougherty Funding LLC.
10	51	Alex Ardoin	1:22.063	1.571	111.427	7	JDC Motorsports	Oral & Facial Surgery Center/Twister Trailer
11	85	Chris Miller	1:22.197	1.705	111.245	16		
12	11	Adam Christodoulou	1:22.203	1.711	111.237	10	JDC Motorsports	Molecule/AlpineStars/Miller Milling Co
13	72	Jorge Goncalvez	1:22.467	1.975	110.881	10	Aim Autosport	
14	19	Caio Lara	1:22.609	2.117	110.690	13	JDC Motorsports	MLD/ATW/Molecule
15	71	David Ostella	1:22.921	2.429	110.274	16	Aim Autosport	GP Global Precast
16	16	Chris Cumming	1:26.274	5.782	105.988	9	World Speed Motorsports	Texas World Speedway/Motul Oil/K&N Filters +
17	77	Kevin Toledo	1:36.811	16.319	94.452	2	Eliseo THL Motorsports	
18	13	Michael Furfari	1:47.913	27.421	84.735	5	Mundill	Furfari Paving

Afternoon session results:

Pos I	No.	Name	Best Tm	Diff	Best Spd	In Lap	Team	Sponsor
1	3	Peter Dempsey	1:20.344		113.811	14	Juncos Racing	Juncos Racing / The Collection / Motorsports Ireland
2	27	Anders Krohn	1:20.361	0.017	113.787	14	Mundill	Trallfa/Colosseum
3	33	Richard Kent	1:20.388	0.044	113.748	16	Andersen Racing	Traka/Allied Interior Products
4	22	Conor Daly	1:20.564	0.220	113.500	17	Andersen Racing	Indeck/Cytomax/Merchant Services/College Network
5	2	Joel Miller	1:20.634	0.290	113.401	5	Andersen Racing	Allied Interior Products/Doug Mockett & Co
6	13	Michael Furfari	1:20.676	0.332	113.342	15	Mundill	Furfari Paving
7	66	Rusty Mitchell	1:20.863	0.519	113.080	8	Mitchell Motorsports	Motorola
8	19	Caio Lara	1:21.001	0.657	112.887	5	JDC Motorsports	MLD/ATW/Molecule
9	51	Alex Ardoin	1:21.124	0.780	112.716	5	JDC Motorsports	Oral & Facial Surgery Center/Twister Trailer
10	30	Rick Rosin	1:21.414	1.070	112.315	13	Team GDT	FundeSporte/Governo Do ESTADO SANTA Catarina
11	11	Adam Christodoulou	1:21.503	1.159	112.192	3	JDC Motorsports	Molecule/AlpineStars/Miller Milling Co
12	72	Jorge Goncalvez	1:21.743	1.399	111.863	15	Aim Autosport	
13	55	Gerry Kraut	1:21.814	1.470	111.766	15	JDC Motorsports	Dougherty and Co./Dougherty Funding LLC.
14	71	David Ostella	1:21.826	1.482	111.749	18	Aim Autosport	GP Global Precast
15	85	Chris Miller	1:22.372	2.028	111.009	3	JDC Motorsports	Miller Milling Company
16	21	Denis Navarro	1:23.135	2.791	109.990	1	Andersen Racing	Navarro Medicines Distribution/Allied
17	77	Kevin Toledo	1:23.502	3.158	109.506	18	Eliseo THL Motorsports	www.Thl.cl/Chile
18	16	Chris Cumming	1:23.652	3.308	109.310	16	World Speed Motorsports	Texas World Speedway/Motul Oil/K&N Filters +
19	80	Toshihiro Deki	1:23.946	3.602	108.927	16	Juncos Racing	

